Grimes!

Chance is a funny thing. I took five days off work and went to the cottage for some relaxation.

While I was there I made some field recordings with my new portable recorder.

I recorded water:

and I recorded wind:

And I got home and went right back to work. After a vacation I am always more tired than before I went away. I almost cancelled a Monday night engagement. At the last minute I changed my mind and went. My bus home is on diversion. At 9:30 I walked passed Gallery 345 on Sorauren. Henry Grimes and Andrew Cyrille were playing. It was beautiful, inspiring and galvanizing. It was also depressing – to me, these guys are legends. There were less than 20 people in the house.

Henry Grimes had disappeared for 30 years. People thought he was dead. In 2002 he made a comeback.

After I saw him play I made this song. It is in no way related to the music he plays. I’m glad he’s playing it.


Leave a Reply

