Primitive Tools of Stone Age Man

Wind Chimes

I’ve always been enthusiastic about making my own instruments. I’ve rarely been successful.

The bamboo pole supporting the peppers was my attempt to make a shakuhachi. It’s the only surviving artifact from a long period spent trying to make my own pan-pipes, fifes and primitive flutes.

A website for kids helped me complete a functional instrument:

 

A pentatonic tubular xylophone. Wow. After hours of research, trips to the hardware store and a ton of burnt bamboo I could make 5 notes. And they didn’t sound great.

I decided if I wanted to be the next Harry Partch, I would have to go where the future was. Electronics. I bought  a book about circuit-bending and went to a Circuit City for the first time in my life. The result?

A semi-functional pair of contact-microphones. I don’t think Stockhausen needs to worry yet.

So I put instrument building out of my mind. Why would someone who can’t hang a picture think they are capable of building an instrument? Folly, plain and simple.

And then it happens. I see a set of wind-chimes and begin to think about metallophones… and before I know it, my dad is driving me to the Home Depot to buy threaded rod and 1x2s.

While I didn’t contribute anything musical to this (the wind-chimes come tuned) I have no hesitation saying: I’ve built my first truly successful instrument. (It plays 6 notes.)

2 responses to “Primitive Tools of Stone Age Man

  1. This is a beautiful music. I listened to it while I ate oatmeal and it was so enchanting that I even put down my spoon (for a moment) in order to give this piece my full attention.

  2. Hey Buddy,

    Sounds great.
    Congrats on building those wind-chimes.

Leave a Reply

